Plum Financier Tart (GF)

IMG_1846

I’ve only ever made one financier recipe and that is the Pear Financier Tart (Gluten Free). 

As I described there:

Un financier is a small rectangular French butter cake. Believe it or not, the particular shape is actually the reason that kept me from making them for so long. My, albeit close-minded thinking, was that if one didn’t have the little rectangular molds that form their recognizable shape, then one could not make a financier.

Mais, non! 

Upon further research, financiers come in many flavors and shapes. They are most recognizable as small rectangles, getting their name from resembling little bricks of gold, but can be shaped into muffins, madeleines, tarts, or even cut into bars. And so, I stepped out of the box, or rectangle in this case, and attempted my first French financier in the form of a tart. Oh, and without butter…I hope the French don’t kill me!

I cannot believe I waited so long.

They are incredibly easy to make. Basic in ingredients. Perfect for snacking. Easily adaptable. Gluten free. And so just good.

The most popular way to make them is using almond flour, which I have used here and butter. Typically they are presented as simple moist butter cakes, stacked in little rows, calling out to you from behind the glass case in French bakeries. Occasionally they are sprinkled with a few slivered almonds.

As I did with the Pear Financier Tart (Gluten Free), I wanted to change tradition a bit. I omitted the butter for a lighter cake and I added fresh plums to make up for it. The plum skins become nice and tangy when baked. It tastes very French because it’s light on sugar and is more of a snacking cake than a decadent dessert. There are really only 5 ingredients, plus the fruit. And the batter comes together as quickly as Crêpes.

Bon appetit!

Plum Financier Tart snippet

Leave a comment